Freely searchable after a fairly
painless registration. "As a service to the computing community,
the Digital Library will continue to offer its search and bibliographic
database resources to all visitors, for free. All you need to do is
register with us." -- Title page
AfricaBib
http://www.africabib.org/
Doing research on African libraries or
librarianship? Definitely check here. "The site consists of two
bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature
(Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African
Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a
comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa
(Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2000: A
Comprehensive English Language Bibliography)." -- "About"
page
ALB 1876 : American Libraries before 1876
http://www.princeton.edu/~davpro/databases/index.html
Part of the Davies Project at Princeton University, this database contains "Research into the History of University
Libraries in the United States and the History of their Collections." -Title Page
All Academic
http://www.allacademic.com/
"All Academic is an academic
index. It is designed to provide scholars and researchers with useful
on-line source information about scholarly works. . . . Links are
direct from source citations to scholarly publications. All Academic
catalogs free publications only! Links to commercial and fee based
scholarly publications are not included in this database." --
"About" information
American Library Association Archives: Holdings Database
http://archives.library.illinois.edu/alaarchon/
"This website provides a
searchable interface for the American Library Association Archives'
'control card' database. The system includes records for over 1,100
archives or manuscript collections which have been arranged according to
the archival principle of provenance. Materials are arranged in a
three-part classification scheme of record group, record sub-group, and
record series." -- Title page
Anthropological Index of the Royal Anthropological Institute
http://lucy.ukc.ac.uk/AIO.html
A small but surprising number of
entries concerning libraries. "The Anthropological Index Online is
based on the journal holdings of The Anthropology Library at the The
British Museum (Museum of Mankind) which receives periodicals in all
branches of anthropology, from academic institutions and publishers
around the world." -- Title page
ARCHON Directory
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/archon/
"The ARCHON Directory includes
contact details for record repositories in the United Kingdom and also
for institutions elsewhere in the world which have substantial collections
of manuscripts noted under the indexes to the National Register of
Archives." -- Title page
arlis.net Periodicals Database (formerly Union List of Art, Architecture and Design Serials)
http://www.arlis.net/
"The arlis.net service is designed
to help users to locate art, architecture and design publications, plus
related materials. The service currently consists of a database of
periodical titles (or magazines / journals / serials), and a related
directory of art library resources in general. " Click on the periodicals tab at the top of the page.
-- "Introduction"
Australian Digital Theses Program
http://research.anu.edu.au/thesis/
"The University maintains a collection of open access versions of some ANU theses.
University candidates and graduates can make their PhD, MPhil and Doctorate by Research theses open access by depositing their successful
theses through these pages." -- "Homepage"
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
http://www.base-search.net/
"BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access
web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library." -- "About BASE"
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
http://www.bcin.ca/
"The Bibliographic Database of the
Conservation Information Network (BCIN) provides access to over 190,000
bibliographic citations for conservation literature. BCIN includes
citations from the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (prior to
1998), technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles,
books and audiovisual and unpublished materials. The database also
includes previously unavailable material from private sources, as well
as new information gathered by a worldwide network of
contributors." -- "About BCIN" page
Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia
http://www.bsuva.org/
Of monumental importance, the first 51
volumes of Studies in
Bibliography, offering a vast library of articles on bibliography
and textual criticism, has been made available online by the
Bibliographical Society.
Book History Online: International Bibliography of the History of the
Printed Book and Libraries
http://www.kb.nl/bho
"Book History Online (BHO) is
designed, managed, maintained and published by the Koninklijke
Bibliotheek, National Library of the Netherlands, in co-operation with
national committees in countries all over the world. BHO is a database
in English on the history of the printed book and libraries. It contains
titles of books and articles on the history of the printed book
worldwide. It is based on ABHB, the Annual Bibliography of the
History of the printed Book and Libraries." -- "Introduction" page
Book Search Mashup
http://kokogiak.com/booksearch/
This mashup created by Web developer, Alan Taylor at his site
Kokogiak, lets you runs queries in Google Books, Amazon
Search Inside/A9 and MSN Live Book simultaneously. Results appear
side-by-side in 3 columns for quick comparison.
BookServer
http://archive.org/bookserver
"The BookServer is a growing open architecture for vending and lending
digital books over the Internet. Built on open catalog and open book formats, the BookServer model allows a wide
network of publishers, booksellers, libraries, and even authors to make their catalogs of books available directly
to readers through their laptops, phones, netbooks, or dedicated reading devices. BookServer facilitates pay
transactions, borrowing books from libraries, and downloading free, publicly accessible books." -- Homepage
British Library Catalog
http://catalogue.bl.uk/
"This service provides simple
searching and ordering of documents from the British Library's extensive
collections." -- Homepage
British Library Manuscripts Catalog
http://molcat.bl.uk/
"This On-line Catalogue is
designed to offer a single means of access to the mainstream catalogues
of the Department of Manuscripts covering accessions from 1753 to the
present day." -- "About" page
British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service (BOPCRIS)
http://www.southampton.ac.uk/library/ldu/projects.html
"You can use this web site to
search and browse information from British Official Publications over
the period 1688-1995. You can also read abstracts, and view detailed
consistent subject indexing, of key documents. You can then read the
digitised full-text version of a limited number of these
documents." -- Title page
C-SPAN Video Library
http://www.c-span.org/series/browse/
"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all
C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired
since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible
through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives." --
About page
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
http://manuscripts.cmrs.ucla.edu/
"The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts offers a simple and
straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the
database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, which we expect quickly to grow to thousands.
Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete
contents of the database. As the project develops, a richer body of information for each manuscript, and the
texts in these codices, will be provided, where available." -- About us page
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/
"This is a collection of
bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various
sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The about 1200
bibliographies are updated monthly from their original locations such
that you'll always find the most recent versions here. The collection
currently contains more than one million references (mostly to journal
articles, conference papers and technical reports) and consists of 660
MBytes of BibTeX entries. More than 16000 references contain
crossreferences to citing or cited publications. More than 100,000
references contain URLs to an online version of the paper. There are
more than 2000 links to other sites carrying bibliographic
information." -- Title page
COPAC
http://www.copac.ac.uk/
"COPAC provides FREE access to the
merged online catalogues of 21 of the largest university research
libraries in the UK and Ireland." -- Title page
Current Cites
http://currentcites.org/
"A team of librarians and library
staff monitors information technology literature in both print and
digital forms, each month selecting only the best items to annotate for
a free publication. The resulting issue of 10-20 annotated citations of
current literature is emailed to a mailing list and is redistributed on
other electronic fora. The individual citations are also individually
indexed so that you can dynamically create your own Bibliography
On-Demand. The items that are freely available on the Internet are also
retrieved and indexed so that you can perform an Article Search of the
full-text of these items." -- Title page
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
http://www.dart-europe.eu/basic-search.php
"DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia
who are working together to improve global access to European research theses." - Homepage
DataFerrett
http://dataferrett.census.gov/
"DataFerrett is a unique data mining and extraction tool.
DataFerrett allows you to select a databasket full of variables and then recode those variables as you need.
You can then develop and customize tables. Selecting your results in your table you can create a chart or
graph for a visual presentation into an html page. Save your data in the databasket and
save your table for continued reuse." - Homepage
DLIST - Digital Library of Information Science and Technology (University of Arizona)
http://arizona.openrepository.com/arizona/handle/10150/105067
"Established in 2002, DLIST, Digital Library of Information Science
and Technology is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences,
including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science, Information Systems, Museum Informatics,
and other critical information infrastructures. The dLIST vision is to serve as a dynamic archive in the Information
Sciences, broadly understood, and positively impact and shape scholarly communication in our closely related fields."
-- About page
Digital Collections Registry
http://quest.library.illinois.edu/DLFCollectionsRegistry/browse/
From the Digital
Library Federation. A searchable database of members' public domain,
online digital collections.
Digital Curation Bibliography: Preservation and Stewardship of Scholarly Works
http://digital-scholarship.org/dcpb/dcb.htm
"The Digital Curation Bibliography: Preservation and Stewardship of Scholarly Works presents
over 650 English-language articles, books, and technical reports that are useful in understanding digital curation and preservation.
This selective bibliography covers digital curation and preservation copyright issues, digital formats (e.g., data, media, and e-journals),
metadata, models and policies, national and international efforts, projects and institutional implementations, research studies, services,
strategies, and digital repository concerns. Most sources have been published from 2000 through 2011; however, a limited number of key sources
published prior to 2000 are also included. The bibliography includes links to freely available versions of included works, such as e-prints and
open access articles." - Homepage
Digital Library of the Caribbean
http://www.dloc.com/
"The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the
Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives,
libraries, and private collections." - Homepage
Digital Public Library of America
http://dp.la/
"The vision of a national digital library has been circulating among librarians, scholars, educators, and private
industry representatives since the early 1990s. Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive,
have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities,
public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these
different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society�s digitized
cultural heritage." - History page
Directory of Union Catalogs (IFLA)
http://archive.ifla.org/VI/2/duc/index.htm
"This Directory is a complete
listing of all known current national union catalogues in the world,
including monograph, serial and general union catalogues. In order for
catalogues to be included, they must be both national (or international)
and current. Closed catalogues and regional or local catalogues are not
listed. Specific subject catalogues are included where known, as well as
those with a general subject coverage." -- Title page
DLF Aquifer
http://www.diglib.org/aquifer/
From the Digital
Library Federation. "Our purpose is to promote effective use of distributed
digital library content for teaching, learning, and research in the area of American
culture and life. We support scholarly discovery and access by: Developing schemas, protocols
and communities of practice to make digital content available to scholars and students where they do their work;
Developing the best possible systems for finding, identifying and using digital resources in context by
promoting digital library best practices and developing tools and services to improve digital
resource access and use" -- Title page
E-LIS - The open archive for Library and Information Science
http://eprints.rclis.org/
"E-LIS is an open access archive for scientific or technical documents,
published or unpublished, on Librarianship, Information Science and Technology, and related areas.
E-LIS relies on the voluntary work of individuals from a wide range of backgrounds and is non-commercial. It is not
a funded project of an organization. It is community-owned and community-driven. We serve LIS researchers by facilitating
their self-archiving, ensuring the long-term preservation of their documents and by providing world-wide easy access to
their papers." -- Title page
English Short Title Catalogue
http://estc.bl.uk/F/?func=file&file_name=login-bl-list
"The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items:
published between 1473 and 1800; mainly in Britain and North America; mainly,
but not exclusively, in English; from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries.
" -- Title page
ERIC Database
http://www.eric.ed.gov/
"The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world�s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.
"
-- Title page
EdResearch
http://cunningham.acer.edu.au/dbtw-wpd/sample/edresearch.htm
The EdResearch Online database is housed Acer Cunningham Library and
indexes over 13,800 education research articles, many of which have full-text available. The database is updated monthly.
EThOS: Electronic theses online service
http://ethos.bl.uk/Home.do
"EThOS is the UK�s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the
UK�s doctoral research theses...There are approximately 300,000 records relating to theses awarded by over 120 institutions. Almost 100,000 of these also provide
access to the full text thesis, either via download from the EThOS database or via links to the institution�s own repository. Of the remaining 200,000 records
dating back to at least 1800, three quarters are available to be ordered for scanning through the EThOS digitisation-on-demand facility." - About page
FindArticles.com
http://findarticles.com
"FindArticles is a specialized
search engine designed to help you quickly and easily find published
articles on the topics that interest you. Our database has hundreds of
thousands of articles from more than 300 magazines and journals, dating
back to 1998. FindArticles even brings some print-only publications to
the Web for the first time." -- "Help" page
TheFreeLibrary.com
http://www.thefreelibrary.com/
"Since 2003, The Free Library has offered free,
full-text versions of classic literary works from hundreds of celebrated authors, whose biographies,
images, and famous quotations can also be found on the site. Recently, The Free Library has been
expanded to include a massive collection of periodicals from hundreds of leading publications
covering Business and Industry, Communications, Entertainment, Health, Humanities, Law, Government,
Politics, Recreation and Leisure, Science and Technology, and Social Sciences. This collection includes
millions of articles dating back to 1984 as well as newly-published articles that are added to the
site daily." -- Homepage
getCITED
http://www.getcited.org/
"getCITED is a site that exists to
facilitate the dissemination and discussion of academic research. It has
numerous features, but at its core, it consists of two things: a
database and a discussion forum. What makes getCITED's database truly
unique is that it lets scholars and researchers decide what its content
should be. What makes its discussion forum truly unique is the fact
that, within the comments posted, you can create LINKS to PUBLICATIONS
and IDENTITIES within the getCITED database." -- "About"
page
Google Book Search
http://books.google.com/
The searchable interface for Google's
mass book digitization project.
page
GPO Access Browse Topics
http://www.browsetopics.gov/
"This service arranges U.S. Government sites by topic. The main list of topics is based upon the current
Guide to U.S. Government Information, also known as The Subject Bibliography Index." -- Title page
GPO Access Multi-Database Search
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/multidb.html
Useful for searching a variety of
federal government publications for information pertaining to libraries.
Includes the United States budget, Congressional bills, the Congressional
Record, the Federal Register, public laws, and the United
States Code, among other items.
GrayLIT Network - See Science.gov
HCI Bibliography: Human-Computer Interaction Resources
http://www.hcibib.org/
"The HCI Bibliography is a
free-access online bibliographic database on Human-Computer Interaction.
The basic goal of the Project is to put an electronic bibliography for
most of HCI on the screens of all researchers, developers, educators and
students in the field through the World-Wide Web and anonymous ftp
access." -- "About" page
Index Translationum
http://www.unesco.org/culture/xtrans/
"INDEX TRANSLATIONUM data base
contains cumulative bibliographical information about books translated
and published in about a hundred of UNESCO Member States from 1979,
totalizing some 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social
and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history, etc."
-- Title page
Infotrieve
http://www.infotrieve.com/
Many LIS journals are indexed in
ArticleFinder, "Infotrieve's free-to-search proprietary
bibliographic database containing over 22 million citations and over 10
million abstracts from more than 35,000 of the most important scholarly
journals from fields such as medicine, biotechnology, science,
engineering, and law." -- "About" page
Ingenta
http://www.ingentaconnect.com/
CARL UnCover is defunct, now
incorporated into Ingenta. Free searching.
Internet Archive
https://archive.org/
"The Internet Archive is building a digital
library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper
library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public." -- IA Homepage
Internet Speculative Fiction Database
http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/index.cgi
Hosted by the Cushing Library Science
Fiction and Fantasy Research Collection and Institute for
Scientific Computation at Texas A&M University, "The ISFDB is an effort to
catalog works of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. It links together
various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication
bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and
collection content listings, yearly fiction indexes,
and forthcoming books." -- Homepage
Intute
http://www.intute.ac.uk/
"Intute is a free online service providing
you with access to the very best Web resources for education and research. The service
is created by a network of UK universities and partners. Subject specialists select
and evaluate the websites in our database and write high quality descriptions of
the resources. " -- Homepage
LexisNexis Legal Newsroom
http://www.lexisnexis.com/legalnewsroom/p/lexisonelandingpage.aspx
The LexisNexis Legal Newsroom delivers breaking news headlines, opinions, fast-turn analysis and more.
This free Web site is the new and improved version of the LexisNexis Practice Area Communities and brings significantly increased coverage, more
social media interaction and other enhancements.
The Legal Newsroom brings the number of practice areas covered up from 15 to more than 30, includes new jurisdictional options for select states,
and introduces other significant enhancements. Emerging Trends features cover hot topics such as health care reform, immigration reform, and fracking
and alternative energy. News headlines (which link through to Lexis.com or Law360), along with opinion and analysis, are delivered for more than 30 practice
areas and several select jurisdictions.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
http://www.libraryresearch.com/
"EBSCO Publishing is proud to provide the Library, Information Science
& Technology Abstracts (LISTA) database as a free resource to anyone interested in libraries and
information management. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes nearly
600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back
to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science." -- EBSCO Free Databases page
LigerCat : Literature and Genomics Resource Catalogue
http://ligercat.ubio.org/
"LigerCat was created as part of the Biology of Aging project at
the MBLWHOI Library at the Woods Hole Marine Biological Laboratory.
LigerCat is a search tool for NCBI's PubMed that uses tag clouds to provide an overview of important concepts and trends.
LigerCat aggregates multiple articles in PubMed, summing their MeSH descriptors and presenting them in a cloud, weighted
by frequency.
Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is a large controlled vocabulary created and maintained by the National Library of
Medicine to categorize and index journal articles in the life sciences. MeSH descriptors are akin to tags in a blog post,
but scientific articles are tagged with MeSH descriptors by respected librarians and scientists.
In addition to providing a visual overview of a set of PubMed articles, LigerCat can search PubMed in realtime.
Simply click on one or more MeSH descriptors in a tag cloud to search PubMed for those terms instantly." -- About page
MagPortal
http://www.magportal.com/
Searches and returns full-text articles
from web publications. Should prove useful for some topics.
Medieval Feminist Index
http://inpress.lib.uiowa.edu/feminae/Default.aspx
Great for items about medieval books,
libraries, etc., with a feminist slant. A quick test search turned up,
among others, "A Library Collected by and for the Use of Nuns"
and "Reassessing Women's Libraries in Late Medieval France."
"The Medieval Feminist Index covers journal articles, book reviews,
and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle
Ages." -- "What is the MFI?" page
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
http://www.ncjrs.gov/abstractdb/search.asp
Useful for prison librarianship
research. "The National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 160,000 criminal
justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government
reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished
research." -- Title page
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/
Provides access to the RLIN AMC
(Archival and Mixed Collections) file and the OCLC bibliographic
database describing archival and manuscript collections in public,
college and university, and special libraries located throughout North
America and around the world. "NUCMC, or the National Union Catalog
of Manuscript Collections, is a free-of-charge cooperative cataloging
program operated by the Library of Congress." -- Title page
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
http://www.ndltd.org/
The goals of the NDLTD are as follows:
"To improve graduate education by allowing students to produce
electronic documents, use digital libraries, and understand issues in
publishing; to increase the availability of student research for
scholars and to preserve it electronically; to lower the cost of
submitting and handling theses and dissertations; to empower students to
convey a richer message through the use of multimedia and hypermedia
technologies; to empower universities to unlock their information
resources; to advance digital library technology." -- Title page
NewspaperCat : Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers
http://ufdc.ufl.edu/hnccoll
"The Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat)
is a tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers
published in the United States and the Caribbean. NewspaperCat was funded by a grant from the George A.
Smathers Libraries.
Search by keyword, newspaper title or by city, county or state to locate titles. From your search result,
click on the link(s) to connect to the digital newspaper(s). In many cases, this content is keyword searchable,
depending on the hosting organization.
NewspaperCat currently links to over 1000 full-text newspaper titles with a goal to include links to as many US
and Caribbean newspapers with archival digital content as possible.. Plans are to expand the Catalog as newly
digitized newspaper titles are located." -- Title page
OAIster
http://oaister.worldcat.org/
"OAIster is a Mellon-funded project of the University of Michigan
Digital Library Production Services. Our goal is to create a
wide-ranging collection of free, useful, previously difficult-to-access
digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone." -- Title page
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Repositories
http://www.opendoar.org/
"The OpenDOAR service is being developed to support the rapidly emerging
movement towards Open Access to research information. This will categorise
and list the wide variety of Open Access research archives that have grown
up around the world. " -- Title page
Open Access Directory
http://oad.simmons.edu/oadwiki/Main_Page
"The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access
(OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large. By bringing many
OA-related lists together in one place, OAD will make it easier for everyone to discover them
and use them for reference. The easier they are to maintain and discover, the more effectively
they can spread useful, accurate information about OA. " -- Title page
Public Library Geographic Database (PLGDB) Map
http://www.geolib.org/PLGDB.cfm
"The database includes the locations of America�s 16,000 public libraries, population characteristics from the
US Census that best describe people that use libraries, and library use statistics from the National Center for
Educational Statistics. " -- Homepage
PQDT Open
http://pqdtopen.proquest.com/
"PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.
You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the
complete text in PDF format." -- About page
PubMed (MEDLINE, etc.)
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/
Very useful for researching medical
library topics, information use in the health care industry, and so
on. Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, Health
Libraries Review, and Hospital Libraries are included among
journals indexed. "PubMed provides access to bibliographic
information, which includes MEDLINE as well as the out-of-scope
citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from
certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry
journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE;
citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE
indexing; some additional life science journals that submit full text to
PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM." --
"Overview" page
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
http://jnul.huji.ac.il/rambi/
If you're researching Jewish libraries,
their materials, etc., this catalog is a wonderful resource. "RAMBI
- The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies - is a selective bibliography
of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of
Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of
periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and
European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and
University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and
Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is
that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important
information for such research." -- "About" page
Reference Reviews Europe Online
http://rre.casalini.it/
"Over 1000 European reference book
reviews online, full-text searchable, updated quarterly." -- Title
page
refseek
http://www.refseek.com/
"Currently in public beta, RefSeek is a web search engine for students and researchers that aims to make academic
information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
RefSeek's unique approach offers students comprehensive subject coverage without the information overload of a general search engine�increasing the visibility of
academic information and compelling ideas that are often lost in a muddle of sponsored links and commercial results." -- About page
ResearchIndex
http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/index.jsp
"ResearchIndex is a digital
library that aims to improve the dissemination, retrieval, and
accessibility of scientific literature. Specific areas of focus include
the effective use of web, and the use of machine learning . . . .
The ResearchIndex project encompasses many areas including the location
of articles, full-text indexing of the articles, autonomous citation
indexing, reference linking, information extraction, display of
query-sensitive summaries, extraction of citation context, distributed
error correction, related document detection, and user profiling."
-- "Welcome" page
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
http://sffrd.library.tamu.edu/
"The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
is an on-line, searchable compilation and extension of Science Fiction and Fantasy
Reference Index 1878-1985, Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1985-1991,
and Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1992-1995,
including material located since publication of the last printed volume."
-- Introduction
Science.gov
http://www.science.gov/
"Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative
selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results."
-- Home page. This database includes Office of Scientific and Technical Information's (OSTI) GrayLIT Network.
Scirus
http://www.scirus.com/
This search engine retrieves a
surprising number of articles from library and information science
journals, in addition to relevant web sites. "Responding to the
need for focused, comprehensive and reliable overviews of relevant
scientific information, Elsevier Science has developed the powerful
Internet search tool Scirus. Scirus distinguishes itself from existing
search engines by concentrating on scientific content only and by
searching both Web and membership sources." -- "About"
page
TechRepublic's White Paper Search
http://www.techrepublic.com/whitepapers
"TechRepublic� provides IT professionals a valuable technical
content resource dedicated to meeting their day-to-day demands for timely and relevant Information
Technology-focused knowledge and insight." -- "CNET Networks"
page
TRAIL - Technical Report Archive and Image Library
http://digicoll.manoa.hawaii.edu/techreports/index.php?c=1
The Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and
the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) bring us "a collaborative project to digitize,
archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975." -- Homepage
UNESDOC: UNESCO Full Text Documents
http://unesdoc.unesco.org/ulis/
Provides access to full-text documents
published by UNESCO, many on issues related to library and information
science, such as copyright, access to information, and so on. Note
that documents are in PDF format, which requires the free Adobe
Acrobat Reader.
![[reader w/head on book]](graphics/headdown.jpg)